How Great Thou Art

I responded to a request on twitter this morning for an urban verse to the well-known hymn ‘How Great Thou Art’.

I have never written any poetry before, or hymns, unless I can include a Christmas Carol I once co-wrote at school.

I thought I would post it here, partly because I got no response, and so I wanted to record it as my own work -just in case it gets used without acknowledgement, you heard it first here! 🙂

It’s just a short verse but I’m quite pleased with it!

In city streets, amid the crowds of people,
I sense the still, small voice of blessed calm.
The works of man tower over church and steeple,
your loving voice is still to me a balm.

Then sings my soul!
My saviour God to Thee,
How great Thou art,
How great Thou art!
Then sings my soul!
My saviour God to Thee,
How great Thou art,
How great Thou art!

(c) Sharon Tootill, 11th May 2014.

Leave a Reply

