Deep River of Fish

I was listening to an article on Premier Radio earlier about God speaking to us through dreams, and taking note of symbolism. I didn’t hear it all, so I’m not sure who the author was or the name of the book, but I had such a weird dream, I wanted to share it!

I was with a group looking over a cliff, down into a ravine where it looked like clear, blue water. Somebody in the group said “this is the deepest water in the world”.

Suddenly, I don’t know how I got there, I was down in the ravine with my children. Instead of clear blue water, the river was chock full of fish – some dead, some alive. It was so full that you could almost stand on top before you started to slip down. We scrambled into the corner to find a safe, rocky place.

We turned around to see several divers, in old-fashioned, metal diving suits. They were each lying as if dead on top of the lake of fish. Some had begun to sink down in under the fish.

The river seemed to end here, and more fish were flowing in constantly.

Then we noticed that there were people down there, fighting and arguing in the other corner.

A man bunjee jumped down to the people on the other side and handed a deodorant to one of the women, who said that was just what she needed, and then bunjee jumped away. That was the end of the dream.

What do you make of that?!

I thought it was a totally crazy dream with no discernible meaning but when I think of the symbolism from a Christian perspective, I can’t help seeing the fish as people and the divers as churches, and the rocky place as Jesus… And then maybe the bunjee jumper as missions coming to help people but not giving them what they need or lifting them out of the ravine.

Leave a Reply

