Cloudy with a Chance of Pasties

We had such a lovely Monday morning, sitting on the sea front, watching the birds; so perfect in fact that the thought ran through my mind that it was too good to be true.

In the afternoon, I crashed my car. I ran into the back of a van with a step plate on the back – no damage to the van of course, but the step plate broke through the grill and smashed my radiator. It wasn’t just a leak, it flooded out completely.

I managed to get the car to the supermarket car park – I always have my car crashes in such convenient places!

Husband came to the rescue and organised recovery.

While we waited, the family had pasties – handmade and hand crimped to boot – I was a little bit too shaken up to eat (unlike later, when I felt completely ravenous).

There is so much to be thankful for. It could have been on the motorway (can I call the A30 a motorway?), I could have damaged the other car, the driver could have been angry, we could have been injured, we could have been killed.

On the way, middle son had been talking about being homesick for the city and asking why everything that has happened to us has happened the way it has. I was telling him that everything happens for a purpose, even if we can’t see that purpose, even if we can’t see any meaning or reason or rhyme in any of it for years. It will all work out.

“For we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them that are called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:28

So now I am challenged to make a practical application and to believe what I was telling him.

2 responses to “Cloudy with a Chance of Pasties

  1. I’m glad you are okay.
    Your son’s question is the hardest to answer…the one I think we always search an answer for. I struggle with this one. I believe it’s true to an extent… but I don’t think God is necessarily the reason things happen certain ways as some people answer me…I think God is who gives us an opportunity to make something good out of even the most awful things. Maybe guide your son into looking for opportunities? Just a thought…

    Like

  2. We play a lot of the ‘Glad Game’ (as in Pollyanna), and make a special effort of looking for things to be grateful for. But for some reason he does seem to have a tendency toward negativity so we have to keep at it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

