Veganism for Klingons

I had a little thrill yesterday, to discover that one of my favourite Star Trek people, Michael Dorn (@akaWorf) is a vegan, and we exchanged a couple of tweets last night. I have been thinking for a while about wanting to go vegan, and I think this might just be my catalyst.

You all know, anyway, that I’m basically a (Celtic) Klingon married to a Vulcan, right? 🙂 I do love my Vulcan, but if Michael Dorn said the word, I’d be off in a shot! Sorry, honey! ;-P

I have been vegetarian on and off for maybe 20 years, but probably more off than on while I was bringing up my children.

For now I would describe myself as a flexitarian, pescitarian. That is basically what I have been for the last few years. I eat fish occasionally (tuna and salmon mainly) but not meat, and I try to lean towards mostly vegan or vegetarian meals.

I’ll be honest and say that I’m not sure I could commit to being a vegan permanently, although I would like to. I have tried to go vegan several times – I have made three concerted efforts:

– In 2009 I went on a raw vegan diet, and stayed on it for about ten weeks. While I kept to it, I felt pretty amazingly good, but I found it too much of a challenge to keep to, in terms of time and expense. (I seemed to spend all day in the kitchen and was constantly hungry.)

– In 2012, I tried to go vegan again – starting with the Vegan Society’s Vegan Challenge, to go vegan for 30 days, and kept to it for just over three months…. But I got really ill that time, more about that later.

– And then, this year, I tried to go vegan for lent, but failed about halfway through. Main reason for failure: chocolates on Mothering Sunday! To be fair though, I had a *lot* going on this lent, what with being evicted and all, so I definitely indulged in a spot of comfort eating.

I suspect that I might have had more success if I had been more prepared in terms of having a good stock full of vegan foods in the cupboard, and since the rest of the family are meat-eating, milk-guzzling, egg-lovers, maybe I need a separate space for my food and their food.

Here’s the health issue though: I got very ill in 2012, and almost ended up in hospital with digestive problems and suspected Crohn’s / Ulcerative Colitis (both of which run in the family).

I believe that it was due to re-introducing wholewheat / granary bread and soya into my diet after not having them for years. I’m obviously sensitive to them.

I suspected for a while that it might be a gluten sensitivity, but with experimentation, I have discovered that I can tolerate small amounts of bread and pasta (although for some odd reason, potatoes seem to be a problem, which is so unfair because I love them).

My quandary really is that, if I have to go easy on wheat, potatoes and soya, will I find enough to eat as a vegan (that won’t make me fat!)?

What was that?!

Yes, you read it right. Because I have PCOS, my body doesn’t respond well to carbs. I’m currently overweight, and would *love* to lose weight by going vegan, but believe it or not, when I went vegan in 2012, I put on a lot of weight! It seems counter-intuitive, but there it is.

If I need to keep off the carbs altogether, what could I actually eat? Would I be back to the raw food?

I’m not sure what to do, how to go about it, or how to ensure I don’t get ill again.

But I think I am going to try. I want to try. So any advice, websites, recommendations, tips, recipes or food ideas you have that might help me, let me know!

Leave a Reply

