Recipe – Vegan Cornish Pasties

This is what I’m hoping to make for lunch today so I thought I would share it! 🙂 (Please note though, Cornwall is NOT England, ask any Cornishman!) 🙂

Don't Switch Off The Light

Vegan Pasties
These are my attempt at the famous Cornish Pasties. The origin of these pasties are as the name suggests
from Cornwall which is a beautiful part of England right at the bottom. The pasties from what I know were
originally made for the miners who worked all day underground and the pasties were a complete meal
wrapped in a pastry.
So I did not make my own pastry as I like to buy a vegan pastry which I have used several
times for convenience. I substituted the original recipe meat with diced up marinated tofu.
You could use soy mince if you can get it.
pasties - ingredients
Pastry – 12 sheets of 20cm x 20xm puff pastry
Makes 12 pasties

Filling
3 Tbsp vegan margarine
1 Tbsp asafetida powder (hind powder)
1 C diced tofu
2 Tbsp soy sauce
1 carrot diced
1 turnip diced
3 steamed medium sized potatoes
1/2 tsp…

View original post 142 more words

Leave a Reply

