Dreams of the Good Life

The_Good_Life_(logo_for_1975_TV_show)

I had a really good run of about 8-10 weeks of feeling much better physically at the beginning of this year. I can’t explain it – there seems to be no obvious correlation between my physical health and my state of mind, and no clear connection with my dietary habits or lifestyle. I wasn’t eating anything different than I was in the Autumn and up to Christmas when I was really ill (actually, I think it has been worse this year, as we haven’t been able to afford a good diet recently); and yet, I had a very welcome reprieve.

But now I have begun to notice the clear signs of relapse, and I don’t know what has caused that either. It is a challenge to slow down and take it easy (which is essentially the only thing you can do in response to an impending ME relapse) when you are already generally so inactive.

I have noticed my dreams becoming much more vivid and intense again – while I was feeling better, I didn’t seem to dream at all. (If I recall any worth mentioning, I will share).

I really desperately want to turn my life around, get well, get fit, get slim and healthy, reach my potential, start working again. I have lost more than a decade to ME, and I don’t want to lose any more. I really do not want this.

I can’t help thinking about positive thinking and the ‘law of attraction’ again. You’ll know that it irritates me no end, and I have written about it a couple of times. And yet, and yet. I keep coming back to the whole idea.

Am I attracting bad luck? Am I somehow causing my ill health? Am I mis-using the ‘power of words’ and bringing negativity into my life? And by the same token, is it possible to change things around? Stem the tide of bad luck? Attract light and life and all good and happy and lovely things instead?

Or is it just a matter of frame of mind?

I find myself dreaming (in the sense of fantasising, not actual sleeping dreams) of a better life – a life where I am healthy and active, and working hard, and able to make a better life for us all round (actually, you probably already know that my fantasy is having a country farm, working on the land, and practising increasing self sufficiency – the ‘Good Life’).

Tom and Barbara in their garden, The Good Life, BBC TV

Tom and Barbara in their garden, The Good Life, BBC TV

One of the ‘positive thinking’ gurus on twitter suggests that the way to invite what you want into your life is to behave as though you already have it.

Well, I can’t physically pretend I’m well, or go digging the land, but I think I can practice the happiness that I imagine I would have if I had that life, choose joy, pretend that I am already there.

Make believe.

Will it make the real thing come a step closer? Will it invite happiness into my life? I have no idea. But it seems considerably preferable to concentrating on how terrible reality is.

Leave a Reply

