Surprise Pregnancy 

Well this is truly a big surprise!

After my youngest son Kim was born 13 years ago, I had a run of miscarriages including twins at 14 weeks and since then, 5 years of secondary infertility. I had assumed that I was not far away from menopause.

I wasn’t expecting to be a mom again. I really thought it was too late, that it was outside the realm of possibility.

But here we are!

Chakotay has told me that I mustn’t get my hopes up, and although I’m thrilled (and slightly terrified!) I dare not get excited.

So what has happened to suddenly increase my fertility so late in life? Two things have changed – 1) I gave up dairy and eggs in addition to meat, so I’m now eating a plant-based, vegan diet. And 2) My doctor put me on Metformin to help me lose weight. I haven’t actually lost any weight sadly but it may have corrected my hormonal imbalance just enough.

I know it’s too early to start thinking about names – there may not be a baby after all, it’s just too soon to know if this will be a successful pregnancy. But favourites in the Chakotay household so far are: Jean-Luc or Luke for a boy and Annika (as in Hanson – Seven’s human name) for a girl. I’m not sure though I might have to veto that one!

Wish me luck?

2 responses to “Surprise Pregnancy 

  1. Congratulations!! ❤
    I'm so sorry for your losses. ((hugs)) Here's to a healthy and happy 9 (10) months! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

